Wednesday, 27 September 2017



DEVI DURGA - Devi Durga in Hinduism is worshiped in different forms and considered a form of Shakti. There are different reincarnations of Durga include Shakti, Kali, Gauri, Uma, Parvati, Chandi, Ambika, Lalita, Bhavani, Bhagvati, Java, Rajeshwari and other forms. The name “Durga” means the ‘invincible’ in Sanskrit. Devi Durga symbolizes freedom from all evils. The word Durga embodies freedom from all evils like injustice, cruelty, hatred, ego and other forms of pain and suffering. All the forms of Durga are worshipped in India.

The legend goes that Durga was created by the Gods Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva to fight the demon Mahisasura, who could not be defeated by either man or God and was continually reigning terror on man and God alike. By killing the demon, Durga freed the world from the demon’s tyranny and has been known as the destroyer of evil since. Durga is popularly depicted as a Goddess wearing red clothes, with ten arms and armed with weapons and a lotus flower and riding a lion or tiger. The red clothes signify fierceness in fighting evil, and the arms suggest that the Devi Durga protects her devotee from all directions.

The weapons held by Durga are given to her by each of the Gods and symbolize the culmination of all the divine powers in her – Shiva’s trident or ’trishul’, Vishnu’s discus or ‘Sudarshana chakra’, Brahma’s Kamandalu, Indra’s thunderbolt, Kuber’s Ratnahar and other weapons given by different Gods. This also suggested that Durga possesses all the weapons necessary to fight evil. The lotus in Durga’s hand is known as ‘pankaja’ and symbolizes the evolution of spirituality among the evils prevalent in this world. Goddess Durga also holds a conch in one of her hands which is known to produce the sound of ‘Om’, which is equivalent to the sound of God in Hinduism. The lion or tiger represents complete power and determination implying that these virtues are required to obtain victory over evil.

WORSHIP - The four-day-long (Saptami to Dashami) Durga Puja is the biggest annual festival in Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Bihar, Jharkhand and Nepal, where it is known as Dashain. It is celebrated likewise with much fervour in various parts of India, especially the Himalayan region, but is celebrated in various forms throughout the Hindu universe.

1.Download Face of Maa Durga Wallpaper

Download Face of Maa Durga Wallpaper

2.Goddess Durga Wallpaper

Goddess Durga Wallpaper

3.Maa Durga Wallpaper Collection

Maa Durga Wallpaper Collection

4. Maa Durga Live Wallpaper

Maa Durga Live Wallpaper

5.Navratri Durga Puja Wallpaper

Navratri Durga Puja Wallpaper

6.Maa Durga Hd Wallpaper

Maa Durga Hd Wallpaper

7.Durga Ji Photo

Durga Ji Photo

Toggle Footer